Sergiu Ciobanu wins Annerville 10K 2017 – Clonmel Athletic Club

by admin on 09/05/2017

The Annerville 10K took place last Sunday in Clonmel where athletes were met with ideal running conditions, calm and mild conditions. This year’s event had both a new starting time, 10.55am, as well as a new route. There were very positives comments on the new course, where many athletes achieved Personal Bests over this Classic distance. This year’s race attracted athletes from all over the country as 16 different clubs were represented by their members in the top 20, great to see. It was also nice to see that 11 athletes broke 36 minutes for this Classic distance, showing that it is a good course for fast times. The good weather saw a fantastic entry of 351 athletes competing.

The race started on the Quay and as the athletes approached the first Km at the top of Irishtown Sergiu Ciobanu of Clonliffe Harriers was at the head of affairs and he soon moved well clear of the chasing pack. He maintained a very good pace over familiar streets and roads to come home a very popular and convincing winner in a very good time of 30 mins 27 secs. Then we had Philip Harty of Ferrybank AC also running very well when finishing 2nd in 31 mins 59 secs with William Stephen’s of Coolquill AC finishing 3rd in 32 mins 47 secs. Rory Sexton of Grange Fermoy AC was 4th in 34 mins 14 secs with David McEvoy of Leevale AC finishing 5th in 34 mins 30 secs. The Master Men awards were won by the following athletes: 1st o/40 Tony Harty Killarney Valley 35:38, 2nd o/40 Dermot Ryan West Waterford in 36:25, 1st o/45 Sean Percy Templemore AC in 37:13, 2nd o/45 Conor Fleming Clonmel AC in 37:34,1st o/50 Dermot Hayes Dundrum AC in 34:58, 2nd o/50 Gerard Murray Rathgormack in 39:09, 1st o/55 Bernard Feery Fethard AC in 38:57,2nd o/55 Billy Prout Clonmel AC 43:25, 1st o/60 James Sullivan Tipp Town in 42:30, 1st o/65 Con Kelleher Waterford AC in 49:24 and 1st o/70 Pierce Purcell Clonmel AC in 89:06.

The Women’s race was also very competitive. Here we had the recently crowned County Senior Road Champion, Carmel Fitzgibbon of Thurles Crokes running a great race when coming home a convincing and worthy winner in 38 mins 56 secs with Lorraine Bolster of Mallow AC finishing 2nd in 39 mins 27 secs and Aine Roche of Clonmel AC 3rd in 40 mins 4 secs. We had Grainne O Callaghan of North Cork Ac 4th in 39 mins 27 secs and Kealey Tideswell of Clonmel AC 5th in 39 mins 30 secs. The Master Women’s awards were won by the following athletes: 1st 0/35 Suzanne Shine Clonmel AC in 42:08, 2nd o/35 Edel Roche Clonmel AC in 43:14, 1st o/40 Sharon Woods Mallow AC 41:38, 2nd o/40 Benvon Lyons Waterford Ac in 42:19, 1st o/45 Siobhan McHugh Clonmel AC in 42:44, 2nd o/45 Denise Compton Dundrum AC in 46:15, 1st o/50 Frances Long Moyne AC in 49:01, 1st o/55 Julie Tideswell Clonmel AC in 48:58, 1st o/60 Dee Kaar Clonmel AC in 65:35.

The Club would like to thank everyone who helped in any way to make this event a brilliant success. At the Presentation of Prizes, Club Chairperson, Nicola Maunsell, thanked the Garda, Civil Defence, Colaiste Cheitinn, Sporting Press and our many stewards who ensured that the race route was well marshaled. She also thanked club members who looked after the entries and post race refreshments.


Leave a Comment