Fittest Family Member Ciara Cummins launches the 2017 Tipperary Womens Mini Marathon!

by admin on 29/07/2017

Tipperary Sports Partnership are delighted to announce that the 2017 Tipperary Women’s Mini Marathon will take place in Clonmel on Sunday 24th September at a slightly earlier time of 10.45am. Now in its eight year, this 10k Women’s Mini Marathon has grown from strength to strength since the inaugural event in Thurles in 2010.

Ciara Cummins who was a member of the winning family who took the honours in the RTE programme ‘Ireland’s Fittest Family; officially launched the 2017 event.

Ciara said that it was great to be associated with this women in sport event for Tipperary and that she was delighted to launch the 2017 Mini Marathon and is looking forward to taking part on the 24th September for the first time. She wished the organisers every success with the event.

This year the event will be starting at a slightly earlier time of 10.45am and also has a new flatter route around Clonmel. This is a wonderful event for women and is open to walkers, joggers and runner of all abilities and mobility.

Registration is both online and postal. This year we will continue to make a charitable donation of €200 to the largest group to register that are raising funds for charitable causes. Details of your local Meet and Train or Fit 4 Life running group, where you can train for this event with others in a fun sociable and supportive environment is available this website. Participants will receive a technical tee-shirt sponsored by LIT Tipperary.

All finishers will receive a specially designed race medallion. Spot prizes will also be distributed on the day. The event also provides a great opportunity for participants to raise funds for their own local charities. All participants will be chip timed so whether running or walking the 10k an accurate time will be available and the event is AAI measured and certified.

The 2017 Tipperary Mini Marathon is funded through Sport Ireland’s Women In Sport Programme, and the 2017 committee comprises of members from Tipperary Sports Partnership, Tipperary Athletics County Board, Tipperary County Council, Clonmel AC, Clonmel Borough District, Clonmel Gardai & Tipperary Civil Defence.


Back: Marie Maher (TSP): Niall O’Sullivan (Clonmel AC): Valerie Connolly (TSP): Anthony Coleman (Clonmel TCC): Cllr. Siobhan Ambrose (Cathaoirleach): Doloras Fahy (Tipp Civil Def): Elaine Cullinan (TSP): Carol Creighton (Clonmel BD): Front: Nicola Maunsell (Clonmel AC) and Ciara Cummins

For more information go to


Leave a Comment