Clonmel Boxing Club Notes 18.02.18

by admin on 18/02/2018

The best overall club was awarded to Clonmel boxing club at the Tipperary / Waterford county championships held in Tramore boxing club. The Clonmel boxers won the most amount of county titles with some memorable performances in the ring over two weekends to take home the Bon Duggan cup after an absence of a few years. The club had previously won the best club award for 16 consecutive years, were delighted to get their hands back on the trophy.
20 Clonmel boxers entered the championships with 15 of those boxers claiming county titles. Nathan o’ Connor took home his first title in his first competitive year with a solid performance against Dylan Rovutsky, St.Nicholas. John Paul Reilly also claimed his first title after two commanding displays against Cian Finn, St. Nicholas in the semi final and Denis Ryan, Tipp Town in the final. Two Clonmel boxers battled it out against each other in there final with Brian Keane egding out Michael Keyes by the narrowest of margins. Raymond Joyce had a tough contest against Bernie Cleary, Dungarvan but the Clonmel boxer produced the cleaner scores over the three rounds to take the title. Conor o’ Donovan showed his class against John Reilly, Nenagh to claimed another county title. Jerome Lonergan / Gartland looked very sharp against a game opponent in Jordan Moore, Tipp Town with the decision going the Clonmel boxers way.
Clubmates Daniel Jones and Luke Boland faced each other in the 75kg final and after three action packed rounds Boland had his hand raised in victory. Courtney Joyce showed the form which made her an Irish champion last year in her county final against a very durable Tara Crowe, Tipp Town. Courtney was made to work hard over the three rounds but she took a unanimous decision on all three judges scorecards. Other Clonmel boxers who won county titles were Leah o’ Gorman, James Fogarty, Ellie mai Gartland, Rachel Connolly, Michael o’ Driscoll, Filip Radzikowski and Kevin Reilly and those who were unlucky to lose out were Brogan Hackett, Kevin Burke and Anthony John Sweeney. All these boxers look forward to the Munster championships which take place over the coming weeks.

Leave a Comment